current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Art Institute
02.11.2006 - 6:43 pm

Katherine and I went to the Art institute in the Inland Empire today.

So my dad a few months back said that maybe I could look into a career for fashion design and interior design because of my hobbies and artistic passions. I never thought about turning my hobbies into a career, so I decided I would do research.

I didn't get much out of it, because I wasn't really convinced that I would be good at it and what really repelled me was the need to "sell myself" after college to have a good career and a good clientelle that would allow me to support myself. Call me anti-capitalist, but I'm just not into that kind of competition. So I kind of brushed it off and figured I'd still do Astrophysics.

However, going to the Art Institute's Open House, I was re-intrigued with the idea of Interior Design. I especially like the idea of learning how to draft, make blueprints, and color theory. Me and Katherine ended up staying longer than anyone else, talking with the Directors of Admissions. I ended up setting up an appointment with one of them to have an "interview" to kind of analyze my position and determine whether this would be the right choice for me or not.

It's a big decision considering how much tuition is and whether or not I'd really be happy in this type of career. I'm sure I'd be great with dealing with clients and I'm sure I have the creativity to do it (let's see what will happen with my room in the near future).

BUT at the same time, I'm not sure if I want to give up a challenging major such as astrophysics because I really enjoy my math and science skills and I would hate to lose that by not using it all the time. Yes, astrophysics is hard, and there aren't a whole lot of opportunities for me, but it will be a big challenge that I think I will enjoy. And who can resist bragging about being a "Rocket Scientist"?

Tough decision.

How will Peace Corps tie into all this? I think after my education, that is the true route of my life, but who knows. No one can ever really know what the "right" decision is.

I hate life-changing decisions. Why can't life be easy?

yesterday - tomorrow