current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Rocks and Ren Faire
2003-04-27 - 11:34 a.m.

Alright. So I shoulda written about this yesterday...but i wasn't in the mood to type.

Friday night: We all head to the rocks. Dawn drives. In the car is me, mary, greg and cathy. We get out there around 8:40pm. There's already some people. Most I don't know...I actualy just recognized Cool Guy Tim. Shane and everyone (christ and....everyone...) came later.

So we're chillin...kinda bummin booz fromwhoever we can...I take my magic pills and already happy. But we're just kinda waiting for more people to come...socialize a bit. mostly to ourselves...up on the top part of the rocks. We called Jose a long time before and told him to come, but he took forever (his usual foreverness). Preppy and some of his friends comes and then Yuri and some of his friends come....still no Jose. So now it's past his usual foreverness and we worry. But I guess his ride was...broke? I dunno, something happened with his ride. So now it doesn't even seem like he's coming out at all. We said "NOOOOO. Where's Jose (and our beer?!)?!"

Well Jose shows up with Garth and Rudy and...others. I was happy. More Beer! Woot! And then my Paulie shows up. More happiness! So I get faded...unbelievably faded once again. Oh and there was rap music at the beginning for a while and I was crip walking...just...to let you know.... So i was pretty much just acting like my usual goofy...semi social self. It was good. I meet cool people that way...and the hair helps.

Well, we're talking about the next day and picking up Pifer from jail. I was invited already, and Lee and phillip wanted to go so Dawn said it was okay. Well it's like 3am and we're just talking about the plans for where everyone's gonna be at...how we're gonna get together, yadda yadda. We end up just deciding to all come to my house and stay the night...wake up and leave by 6:30am or so.

Me and Phillip ride in the trunk because the car was full. I'm clausterphobic, and ya imagine how interesting that ride was. But in actuality, it wasn't as bad as i thought...i just kept my eyes shut and imagined i was in a huge field of daisies....or not.

So it's like 4 or 4:30am when we arrive. My uncle kinda got pissed cuz we were being really loud and woke him up. But me and Phillip said fuck sleep. Shit, I didn't wanna just go to sleep for an hour. I started drawing mine and phillip's names...out of boredom and then started writing lyrics and quotes...and the picture ended up being really...busy...and I thought. I shouold give this to Bryan...it's my contribution...or really, mine and phillip's contribution to getting Bryan the fuck out of there.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday: We wake dawn and lee up around 6ish and get ready. Leave around 6:45 I think. Maybe 7. We get gas....LOTS of water...(fuck hangovers) and move on our merry way. We get there around 7:30 or 8. So wait awhile and finally end up asking information when the jail-birds should be arriving. The woman said 10am. SOOO, it's like 9..and we're deciding whether we should go eat and come back. But then Bryan's bus arrives and we just wait to see if he notices us. And of course he does right away.

We head to In-N-Out for some grub and my dad calls and says "Hey, Chrissy's looking for you." AHHH THE RENAISSANCE FAIRE! I totally forgot!! So Icall Chrissy and tell her I'll be over there at the Pavillion in a bit and she said to meet her by the entrance.

Dawn takes me over to Glen Helen(what a nice girl). I guess Bryan was upset cuz I ditched them, but shit, i've wanted to work at the Ren Faire since I was a wee wee tot. And I didn't wanna go with them to Pamona anyways.

I see Chrissy, all dressed up, and we head in. We walked around for like 30 to 45 minutes looking for god knows what. We end up finding the person Chrissy was looking for: she had to explain a problem, and help for me because I was so late in the hiring part. We do all the paper work crap (for Chrissy) and I end up deciding that i didn't want to work that summer because i felt too unprepared. But I chill with Chrissy and keep her company. Well she had to go to get her costume approved, so we head over to the "costume approval line".

I walk by this punk rock kid with an afro by a cart and he comments: Hey, nice hair. And I say Hey Thank you.

We're in the back of the line (a little ways from the cart), and some cool "chain-mailed" guy strikes up a conversation...or did i strike up the conversation? Whatver. We talk, he's funny... cool guy cool guy.

We catch up to the cart and afro punk starts talking to me. And we talk about dreadlocks, told him I've mine for a little over a year and just...simple talk. Then he says "hey, lemme twist your hair." So I lean over and he says, here sit in front of me (this cart had stairs). So I sit, and talk to him about the fuck-ups of my hair...mostly how the back got all intertwined and together and matted and stuff. and he tries ripping them apart and i tell him yeah, I already tried that. He says "it's cool" and cha ching, whips out his knife, and just starts hacking at my hair (don't worry folks, didn't cut it off, just seperating one from another). Oh yeah, and then we introduce ourselves "By the way, what's your name, I'm Zach."

The people he's with: two older women and a 12 year-old boy, come over and talk about the approval stuff. The kid asks him if he's staying (staying?). He says "i'm staying as long as this girl is able to." And in less than 3 minutes, I'm best friends with a boy named Zach. Well Chrissy is up a ways more in the line and Zach's people ask me if I wanna come to their campsite. I go and ask Chrissy..or tell her "Hey, I met new friends, and I'm going to hang out with them." So then we make arrangements on when and where to meet.

We're walking to the camp site and me and Zach are just making small-talk> And I'm really good at compfortable small-talk and comfortable silence when I'm all mellowed out. And believe me, i was pretty fuckin mellow with my hangover and zero hours of sleep. I introduce myself to two gentlemen...uhh, i don't remember one name and the other guy's name was Shadow. They were making their armor and clothing for the faire.

I sit down and Zach sits behind me and plays and seperates my hair s'more. I talk with everyone...again, small talk. And it's just a real comfortable environment/atmosphere. And I guess, well I thought all these people were like friends...longtime friends, or family. but I guess Zach just met these people like two weeks before and so they just started camping together. It was awesome. And it doesn't surprise me because that's pretty much how Faire people are. Me and Zach never got into real serious or real deep conversations. But we just really got along well. Talked about dreads, punk, the Faire... just STUFF. And oh my god. This guy was just really really cool.

Chrissy wanted me to meet her at the front at around 12:10. So as I sit there, for i don't know how long, it occurs to me that the sun is pretty high and i should ask for the time. 12:30. ACK!. Well. Zach wanted me to meet him today, but I stold hi msince I'm not going to work there and Chrissy has no reason to go, that I didn't think I'd make it. BUT, I found out where he was working, and I told him the first day the Faire starts, I'd go see him. He only did about half my head, so he wants to finish the job. Hey, this guy had dreads for like 10 years, I trusted him.

Chrissy was like Hurry the fuck up! And we got home like 10 till 1...dude. it took 15 minutes...like 10 miutes for chrissy to get back up the hill...I thnk we were going 95mph the whole way.

So whoever wants to go to the Faire with me, tell me. Jimmy's already going, and Katherine wants to go.

Saturday night I just went to a house where justin's and Stevo's bands were playing. Chaos youth finished their set and Fecal Matter was at the end of their set when the cops showed. Greg and cathy spent the night and I fell asleep around 12...pretty good for not sleeping the night before. I thought I'd pass out like at 6 or something.

yesterday - tomorrow