current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Back to the California Debate
09.09.2005 - 1:53 pm

I feel so much better about wanting to transfer to UC Santa Cruz.

Yesterday, I was on the *free* shuttle that travels between campuses after an hour long wait due to so many people.

Quick run down: Supposidly these shuttles run every 15 minutes. They even have it posted when the shuttles are to arrive. It's bullshit because ACTUALLY they come every 1/2 hour. They come at the 15 minute mark, and THEN wait for 15 minutes before taking off. THEN 15 minute interval, and FINALLY another one comes by.

So after watching 3 shuttles come and go before I was able to board, I get on, towards the back, which is HELL, and wait patiently to go. I overhear two girls behind me talking about the shuttles and "why they don't run more frequently during the busiest hours." I turned around and commented, saying that I know several people, including myself who have complained about this and also how I have heard the student gov't trying to resolve this. Plain and simple, like it's any surprise: they simply don't want to fork over the cash to for gas, etc. to run them more often.

BULLSHIT.

What the FUCK are 8,000 students paying $10,000 a fucking year for? Fucking bullshit. So then one of the girls mentioned how she transferred here from UC Santa Cruz because they don't have a nursing program and we talked about how much money they spend on marketing with this school and how it's deceiving. (Obviously a school with a good reputation doesn't need to HAVE good marketing). So I ask her about UC Santa Cruz, telling her I planned on transferring next Fall. She said it was a GREAT school with BETTER teachers, more difficult courses, and more EDUCATED students. People are open-minded and actually CARE about the same things you care about. EXCELLENT meditation/yoga/buddhism teachers ALL over and a beautiful, VERY LARGE campus, with SHUTTLES that run all over EVERY 5 MINUTES.

I am so happy. I am so happy!

I told her abit of my background and what I wanted to do and she said she had every confidence that I could get in. The only trouble i'll be having is transfering my credits over. BUT I talked to a girl today and she said that if i save my syllabai, that I can fax/email those over and I have a better chance of transferring credits.

I'm a very happy girl and I can't wait to apply next month for the UC's.

We'll see what happens.

That's my update basically....

Lauren out.

yesterday - tomorrow