current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

The Fearless Vampires @ Pinks
11.20.2005 - 3:05 pm

Last night was AWESOME! Fucking awesome. One of the most fun nights I've ever had.

So yesterday I was on the computer doing research, but the puter lab closed at five. So I went home, cooked some food and decided it would be good to be active, take a walk or somethin. Went to check my balance at the bank, went to the post office. Then I decided I wanted to walk to Ala Moana to go to Barns N Nobles and perhaps do some research on my political paper. I ended up getting caught up in the Gay/Lesbian section and also the Astronomy/Astrophysics section. Mike called me but I figured he was calling to hang out and I really didn't feel like hanging out with anyone since I wanted to get a good start on my paper and whatnot. He left a message, and I checked it. He told me to "come to the show" because he was playing (whatever) and then said it was the Cro Mags/Bad Brains show. (OH SHIT!) So I got up, put all my books back and walked out. Called Mike, told him I was walking to Waikiki. I wasn't sure about the show though and even contemplated not going. I was in a skirt, I was in my Vans, I had my glasses on. Totally unprepared for a good show. But I got to the Pink Cadellac and spotted Aaron. It was around 8pm this time. We chatted, we schmoozed with others, we were waiting for the show to start. Mike came around around 9 and I was telling the guys how I wanted to change and if they thought I had enough time to go home and do so. The bands were still doing soundchecks so they said for sure. Hurried my ass back home, quickly changed into pants, boots and contacts, said fuck changing my shirt and ran my ass downstairs to the busstop. Got back around quarter to ten and I saw Aaron outside still. I guess just the first band (who I didn't care about anyway) just finished and Extra Stout (Mike's band) was coming on next. So we go in, I was ready to pay but Aaron told the guy i should be on the list. I wasn't, so Aaron went to talk to Mike and instead of waiting, the guy just let me go in.

Went upstairs and stood up front with Aaron waiting for Extra Stout to start. Man, I fucking love those guys. They are so talented (along the same level as Barefoot Primates) and they guys are awesome fucking people. I mean, I love Mike Reed, but also the other Mike is just a cool guy. Always nice as hell to me. All the guys are really nice to me. I think they get a kick out of me being hyper and goofy all the time and dancing around like a looney. And so I had to start some pits. They are so unappreciated on this island. Little to no crowd and it pisses me off cuz I think they're fucking great. I love going to their band practices, I love seeing them live so I can shout out their lyrics. They're just awesome. So I got rowdy and pushed a bunch of guys around, to which I got plenty of comments about later. The few camera-men were always fixed on me and told me later how they enjoyed watching me wreck more havoc than most of the guys on the floor. Damn straight bitches. I love mosh pits.

Then The Quintisentials came on. They were alright. Some good songs, some shitty songs. I got in the pit a few times.

THEN The Fearless Vampires came on. FUCKING AWESOME! They're made up of members from Bad Brains and Cro Mags. Two bands I love. I was so stoked. They were fucking crazy from the start and shit so was I! I tell you I have never slam danced so hard in my life. This show was friggin rad. Usually I like to go to shows with a few beers in my system so I don't chicken out from getting punched in the face. So when I don't drink, I tend to hold back quite a bit. But last night? I've never felt so energized. There were a couple of really crazy guys in the pit, and usually when I see that mindless flailing about, I get annoyed cuz I feel I'm going to get knocked out at some point. But last night it amused the shit out of me, and it ended up not being quite as mindless as I had suspected. Whenever I got in, the guys didn't let up, but I could tell they were aware I was there. I got no apologies, no pity. That made me very happy. I think I just got respect from the beginning because of my actions from the get go. Plus, I always had a huge smile on my face and whenever some shit was going down near me, I'd push and shove and laugh my ass off. So they knew I could take it and still have a good time. Basically, I have never had such a good time sober at a show. My favorite show had always been Unseen, when me and Pat were wrecked off our ass and pitted the entire show, 3 bands, non stop, and I mean NONSTOP and getting punched in the face felt great. I think this show OUSTED that one. I got the shit beaten out of me but it felt so good. I was laughing I was smiling. There was this one kid who was fucking NUTS and made me laugh my ass off at all the shit he was doing. We played around a lot, it was great. I also had some Marine guy, Johnny, try to protect me from shit, but he was pretty good about it and never babied me like some guys do. When the pits were goin crazy he's jump in, pass by me and motion me to join. So I would. And then the crazy fuckin kid picked me up and swung me around in circles, so I got to kick a bunch of people in the chest. I TELL YOU, I have never slam danced so hard in my life. SO MUCH FUNNNN.

I think this show ended up just being good timing. I think with all the excitment of seeing Robbie, and listening to a lot of Hardcore lately, I've had a lot of aggression and anxiety and excitement all built up inside and I've really needed to punch something. Not out of anger, just a release. It's just funny that last night brought it all out because I was feeling pretty mellow that day, listening to Modest Mouse nonetheless. But when the bands started, whow. SO MUCH FUN. I wish I had the words to describe how much fun last night was. I feel like anyone reading this won't get the JIST of HOW MUCH FUN last night was. Jesus Christ. I don't know if I'll ever drink before another show again. If I could just put myself in the mind frame of last night, I will seriously have the best time ever. But I worry because I think a lot of it has to do with Hawaii and the type of crowd and the amount of people. But who knows. We'll see what happens at Good Riddance and Bleeding Through.

Jesus Christ last night was so much fun.

After the show, I met two really cool guys who commented on my dreads and piercings. Then they borught up Bill Hicks and from then on we went crazy quoting shit. They got my number and I hope to see them around cuz they're way cool guys.

Then me and Aaron tried potato launching but he broke the gun and he'll have to fix it before we can do it again. Shucks.

Last night was a lot of fuckin fun.

yesterday - tomorrow