current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

More Job Hunting & Double Date
07.11.2006 - 7:16 am

So the day before yesterday, Sunday, I went job hnting, not being very hopeful. I was gonna go to three places I knew weren't hiring and look stupid by asking for an app. And I also went to a Chinese restaurant and found two locations who were hiring with online apps (I still need to fill those out) for PetCo. and Kinkos. And on my way to the third place that I knew wasn't hiring, I saw a shopping center I decided to stop in and check out. I found apps for Ross, and Office Depot and then I look over and see Target. So I decided to check it out to see if they were hiring as well. They were, so I filled out thier application.

I call after I'm done and I get directed to the fitting rooms in the back. The girl there was real awesome and we chatted about when I could come in for my first interview. We scheduled it for the next day around 10am.

So yesterday I go in and I'm kind of nonchalant because I'm skeptical from my last try at the other Target, where both my interviewers barely spoke English, and I had no idea how to answer their questions and felt nervous and out of place because the shoes I had on sucked and I felt weird for being in all black. Funeral anyone? So this time, I dressed in my white pants and a light colored shirt and I said "Phucket" and decided on wearing my creepers. I got there and chatted more with that girl at the desk and then I got to see a lady named Rosemary for my interview. Cute little black lady who spoke ENGLISH, ah yes. So this time I was totally prepared for their crazy questions and I was so confident in my presence and being my usual witty self that Rosemary fucking loved me! It was awesome.

Then I went back out to wait for my second part of the interview. There was a girl waiting there on the bench too and she was so talkitive! I loved it. All she kept doing was bitch about "dressing up" but her dad told her she had to look professional for her interview. She was 17 and a senior in high schoo land had never had a job before. She was asking questions on what she should do and shit, it was cute, I really liked her. So then an asian guy (but spoke great english) came to see me. He looked less.... happy, so I got slightly more nervous, but at the same time, he seemed to like my answers and was pretty comfortable to be around. And at the end he's like "Well Lauren, I'm giving you a conditional job offer, I just need two things." and looks around for papers. "Your birth date here, and also [blah blah blah about drugs] a drug test" and explained where to go and what to do to get that done. And he told me that if the results come in time, by Wednesday, then they would contact me to tell me to show up at the orientation on Thursday. So did I bag it?! I think so, I'm just afraid to celebrate too early! But yeah! A job! And at Target! Hooray! I'm stoked. Because NOW I can finally be independant, stress free (somewhat) and REALLY pull my own weight around here. I'm gonna go shopping at Costco and get a bunch of good stuff and really take care of the boys. Yay!

And then I came home to do some sheit, and I took all the stuff out of the back of my car, so all I need to do is unpack my clothes that are still in my trunk, but that means cleaning out Robbie's closet and rearranging some shit so I can fit in there, so I'll do that whe nI get back from Victorville tomorrow.

And then Noah and Shannon came to SD Sunday and we got to meet up with them last night for dinner. We all wanted Olive Garden, but it ended up closing around 10pm, and with Robbie working late, we didn't get out of the house until 9:45, so I found out Uno's was open till 11pm, and we decided to go there. Dude, that place is awesome. Good food and reasonable prices.

And Noah and Robbie are TOTALLY unsafe to eat or drink around because you will either choke on your food or shoot some liquid out of your nose from laughing. Seriously, last night was fucking fun as fuck. My stomache still hurts from laughing. I love Noah and Shannon, they are so fucking awesome. I hope to see them on Wednesday before they leave.

But yeah, I'm just going up to VV to get my passport and other important docs and also my Costco card, yeehaw. I'm going to try and chill with my uncle, Stephanie & Billy, and Purdy at some point. Perhaps Laura and Dayna too.

Sleeping by myself tonight is gonna suck. Anyone wanna sleep over?

yesterday - tomorrow