current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

This Is What Resistance Looks Like
03.19.2005 - 3:14 pm

Anti War Rally. Today. Me. In. Yes.

I am so flippin tired right now. I just walked from Waikiki to Downtown. Aye. Ok, so last night... sucked. But. Everything happens for a reason. I am happy.

I hung out with kids from my high school (who are still in HS) and it was fun. They're good kids. I hope they go far in life. Young and... naive a bit, but good kids. Well, I left Waikiki around 10:20 or so. Get downtown around 10:45 MAYBE 10:50 pm. Got to the bus stop to get to the OTHER SIDE of the island. I wait. And wait............... annnnnd wait. Finally it's 12am and some broad and her daughter had been waiting since 11:30, and she decides to call to see if there's another bus. I sure hoped so because I didn't know of any busses stopping before 11:30. Yeah. Ok. LAST BUS WAS AT 10:40 PM. WTFWTFTWTFTWTF. I missed it by FIVE FREAKING MUNUTES?!?!?! Ok ok. So I call John back becuase I have no ride. No where to go. Figure, busses till Waikiki are still running. I'll head back and stay at their hotel. Then I figured I mighta missed those busses too. I go back over to the lady and her offspring and she tells me a cab is $50. uhh WHAT. So i say "hey, if we can find an atm, maybe we can split a cab?" And she tells me "Oh, we have a friend coming to get us" yeah and then continues by asking "Oh, is there a Youth Hostile in Waikiki you can go to?" YOU'RE NOT FROM AROUND HERE ARE YOU? OR FROM EARTH -- THANKS FOR OFFERING ME A FUCKING RIDE YOU BITCH! The content of our conversation led me to believe she was ALSO going to Kailua, but had the AUDACITY to ask me if there was a youth hostile!?! I was so furious. I told her to piss off and Karma was gonna bite her in the ass when she's old and grey. Stupid cunt.

So I find out there's a number 2 bus at 12:30am. I wait. and wait and wait. I said screw it, and at 12:45 I took the 3 that came. I got off too soon becuase I wasn't sure where the 3 would turn. I ended up walking to the International Market Place from halfway from Downtown. yeeeeahhh. Took me about 45 minutes. I was beat. I didn;t get to go to sleep until 2:30am. I woke up when the boys had to at 7am. I stayed in their room until after they had gone and left around 8:30 or so. I was walking up Kalakaua and before I left decided (after some contemplation) that I would go down the Ala Moana way instead of walking all the way down Beretania. Well, I was 5 blocks past Ala Moana Blvd before i realized that I was heading towards Beretania. I decided it was worth it to turn back becuase I thought it would still be a shorter distance and a more pleasant walk.

Well I'm almost to Ala Moana, about Piikoi street and I look to the left towards the park/beach and isee "ANTI WAR" banners across trees. DING. I totally forgot about the rally thing. Friday I was on a bus out of Kailua and I saw this flyer about a rally against the War of Iraq from 10 - 2 on Saturday. And I was trying to read as much of the flyer as I could before the green light and the bus taking off. All I got was that is was at Ala Moana somewhere but I didn't know where and the print was too small for me to catch the number to call for details. So I wanted to go, but figured I wouldn't go becuase... yanno, didn't...know...what...where....whatever, right? So I'm stoked, thinking "sweet ass" and find the nearest cross walk to go across the canal. It's about 9:15 when I show up.... a bit early.

Finally 10am comes around and i decide to get off the bench and have a look-see at some of the booths that were up. It was pretty cool and I saw some cool merch. I didn't have any money on me save 3 bucks for the bus but I saw a cool book called "We Are Everywhere" that I wanna buy now and it's about people against Capitalism. Sweet.

So then around 10:30 they talk about marching. Woah a march? I didn't know it was gonna be a march. Kick ass. Well I'm unprepared except maybe I look like a crusty hippie... which is a start, but I don;t have any cool shit like a banner of my own. So I'm about to take some poster thing that is there for those who don't have their own when I'm asked by some lady to hold the front banner. Hell yeah I'll help carry that shit. SO we walked for almost 2 hours chanting and I felt cool. I even started a few chants and helped rile people up when I heard them dying down. Met the "leadrer" guy, named Sabastian. Met some really cool elderly people and a few others and had a prett good time. I haven't done a rally for over a year and it felt really nice to be apart of something like that again. Have a community voice. I felt good.

After we got back, there were some speakers, one from the white house (who had quit becuase of the war) and some poets that were AMAZING. oh my gawd. I wanna be a poet now. They had this one that was my favorite that was called "Freedom" and listed everything freedom was and it was... it was amazing. I wish I could have gotten a copy of it. But the guy who read the poem (it was his along with some girl and they traded off sayinglines, well done) also does regualr poetry readings on mondays and thursdays and I'm gonna check them out.

Had some food. Donated the 3 bucks in my pocket, helped clean up and went on my merry way. I saw a lot of photographers and some news reporters, so I'm gonna see if we're in the paper tomorrow. It would be cool.

yesterday - tomorrow