current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

New Friends?
04.25.2005 - 1:44 pm

I can't grasp this idea of new friends. I have about 5 friends on this island but I could never see myself calling them up, partying with them . . . being as comfortable around them. To me, my friends are in this impenetrable, premanent circle. That's all. No more. All the experiences I shared with each of them. Nothing can come close to that. Thomas, Steve, Jimmy, Dawn. I just can't imagine being old and looking back and thinking "Oh the good ole days with Cortland" or Courtney, Dave, Nick. No. I look back and remember the parties with Jeska, the kickbacks with Lyle, the shows with Paulie. We're friends. Not just 'I'm their friend' or 'they're my friend' but WE are friends. They have the same memories with me. I know I can spontaneously walk into any of their lives and because we've been through so much together, it'd be "Oh that's just Lauren."

It's kind of hard to explain what I'm trying to say. I just really like my friends. And I really miss them. I look at the schmucks around here and I think "If you only knew" . . . of all the beer runs. Of our parties, shows, luck. The rocks. Santa Monica. San Diego. Clubs. Deserts. Cop chases. Drugs. Stealing cars. LIVE FAST DIE YOUNG! I mean that was us. Fucking incredible. Literally: INCREDIBLE. It feels like a goddamn dream that never happend, really. Shit. Crazy.

New friends? Not on your life.

yesterday - tomorrow