current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Hitchhiker's Review
04.30.2005 - 8:28 am

Ok. Well me and Josh* feel the same -- NOT disappointed, but it was... different. This is what I wrote to him (because I'm too lazy to write it all out again):

I totally know what you mean by... not being a disappointment buuuut, the book is definitely 2^ 276,709 better.

Like the entire middle of the movie with John Malcovich? When I saw the previews, I remember wondering if I was forgetting anything in the book, I mean, it's been like a year... but then soon as the movie was over, i flipped that shit open (yes, I'm a dork, i brought with me), I was bewildered on why that was in there.

But as far as the characters go, like I said, I think I liked Slartibartfast the best, only because I think they got him dead on. I kind of like the way they did Zaphod, but I think he should have had two separate heads. Trillian I think they got pretty good, but maybe could have portrayed her as a bit smarter. Ford was ok, but he should have been British. I was weary about him, but I think he pulled it off pretty well. Except, no wait. I was thinking he should have been more "in his own world" kinda thing.... like... bewildered about humans, but really didn't think about it much because he really only thinks about what's going on around him. But now when I think back about it, he actually did a good job of that. And Arthur was cool. I'm glad they at least got him British. But I think he should have been more oblivious. I dunno. When I read Arthur, I always imagine this oblivious mellow kinda guy -- he doesn't know what's going on, he doesn't care what's going on, he really can't comprehend the destruction of earth, he just wants some goddamned tea.

And I don't like how they switched some lines on the characters and I REALLY didn't like how they made Zaphod out to be looking for the ultimate question. I also think they left out some key stuff, like when they're on their way to be thown out of the Vogon ship, they could have put that funny scene in where Ford's talking him out of it. And they really should have put the "harmless" and "mostly harmless" part in because that's...well KEY. That part is great on so many different levels. And I think they should have put a LOT more emphasis on the mice and Arthur having his brain cut out because he's part of the computer program, Earth. I mean, the whole book, to me, kinda builds up to that moment, and instead, they decided to put all this action and everything in the middle, probably because that's the "movie" thing.

I don't know. I guess I would have done things differently. They could have made the movie a lot funnier with soem key scenes. And because I had already read the book, I have no idea if the people who haven't read the book understood any of it. I'll have to ask my friends if they see it. I don't know. I really wasn't disappointed... for a movie, it was alright. But I don't think they even touched on the humor of Adams.

yesterday - tomorrow