current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Mike's Band Practice
10.09.2005 - 12:36 pm

Yesterday I worked because I thought I was going to have a Political Science test and I wanted Thursday off to study for it. Yeah, we never had the test because my teacher sucks. SO, my whole day Thursday was thrown off because I sat around until 3:30 pm and it was weird.

Well after work yesterday, Nick came by and we just hung around the tattoo parlor for a few hours, waiting for Mike so we could go to his practice at 6pm.

I wanted to buy a crochet needle to play with my hair a bit, but the yarn place was closed. I went today and got it, but it was kind of awkward because it's a small shop and people were in there taking a class on how to knit. I felt weird walking in. None the less, I bought my crochet needle and i'm super stoked on fixing my hair.

Well finally it was time to go with Mike to see him practice with his band. I've never been to a practice like that becuase all my friends just practice in their garages, but being Hawaii, and no one has a house, and even if they did, it's not a loud music community, so they have to pay for studio time. Well, I always get a little bored at band practices, so I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out, but FUCK. It was awesome. MIKE'S BAND IS SO FRIGGIN GOOD. I love them. It also helped that I had a beer, which made me more giddy about being there, but seriously, I can't wait to see them play a show so I can pit.

They sound a LOT like Lower Class Brats. Which is good and bad. It's good because they sound awesome. I love LCB, but bad if you want to be this totally orininal band. Though LCB doesn't really do back-up vocals, which Mike's band had a lot of, so that made it unique (and way awesome). They started off playing a new song of theirs (obviously, if you're going to practice) and it was about the Hawaii Police Department ("fuck HPD!") and that's what got me trying to think of what band they remind me of. It's mostly the vocals. Definitely sounds like the guy from Lower Class Brats. Which makes me want them to cover them (I'm thinking "Psycho" would be best).

But yeah, the HPD song and their other new one about Capital Punishment were my favorites they played. They did a good Misfits cover too, but let's face it, I'm not the most ardent Misfits fan. They're along with Ramones and Sex Pistols in that... yeah, I can listen to them, but they're just so over-talked about and it's like, Punk Rock ABC's.... "if you wanna be punk you gotta listen to the (insert over-talked about Punk band here)..." yadda yadda blah blah blah. I don't care if Ramones were revolutionary, they are boring. Sid Vicious... boring. Iggy Pop or GG Allin would kick Sid Vicious's ass any day. He was in it for the fashion any way. If he were still alive, I'd kick his ass. Bloody bloat. And Danzig is an over-the-hill metal head anyway. Die die my darling... die. No really, die. Please... just die. Oh by the way, someone showed me this, and I think it's funny: Danzig gets knocked on his ass.

So anyway, to get back on track:

I love Mike's band and all the guys in the band are really cool and make me happy. And also, I'm really glad Mike is moving to San Diego because I'm going to visit him every time I'm in the area.

Hell. Yes.

And I got a scimitar that balances perfectly on my head, so I'm going to dance around with the sword on my head in my gypsy clothes on Halloween.

I rule.

yesterday - tomorrow