current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Good Day my belle
11.01.2005 - 5:49 pm

I like walkign around and looking UP. For one, it's funny when you get other people to look up (stupid sheep), but mostly, it's just nice to have a new perspective on life. I discover something new everyday. A characteristic never before seen. The kind that make you go "Did they just add that? Was that here yesterday? I SWEAR that wasn't here the other day." When in fact, it was just you that was absent. Not practicing mindfulness. So today I looked up and saw that the Sea Warrior building was actually a hotel at one time. This particular discovery was enough to make me stop and look more. There was a sign sticking out from the side of the second story and you know how when they take off neon signs, you can still see the lettering that once was? I saw "Fort St. HOTEL" written. And then I started looking at the details of the building and noticed how awesome it would have been as a hotel. Old School. It's a beautiful building. Not to mention the 20's style elevator on the inside. I love that shit.

And there were other things on other buildings.

Looking up. Fantasmic. Who'd have thunk it? It's nice to open your mind a little. Remembering that you don't live in a tunnel. There is a whole world around us and 90% of it is overlooked because we choose to just focus on that 10% that directly affects us. Lazy minds. Wake up! I notice a lot of new stuff on Fort Street whenever I look up because whenever I'm walking down that street, I rush. Rush to class. Rush to the bus. Rush rush rush. I have thoughts of school and business on my mind instead of slowing down and being in the moment and practicing mindfulness. I'm going to work on that. A little each day.

Still on my Beatles craze. Today I've been particularly favoring Revolver, Rubber Soul, and Magical Mystery Tour. Right now I'm listening to Revolver, but Rubber Soul really hit me earlier when I was walking home -- when I was observing the old Hotel.

I want to look up lyrics to "Michelle." Some of them made me think of a certain someone... Ahem.

"Good Day Sunshine" feels like it fits right now.

"Good Day Sunshine"
The Beatles (Revolver, 1966)

Good day sunshine, good day sunshine, good day sunshine

I need to laugh and when the sun is out
I've got something I can laugh about
I feel good in a special way
I'm in love and it's a sunny day

Good day sunshine, good day sunshine, good day sunshine

We take a walk, the sun is shining down
Burns my feet as they touch the ground

Good day sunshine, good day sunshine, good day sunshine

Then we'd lie beneath the shady tree
I love her and she's loving me
She feels good, she knows she's looking fine
I'm so proud to know that she is mine.

Good day sunshine, good day sunshine, good day sunshine

That is all. Lauren out.

yesterday - tomorrow