current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Gypsy Punk. Check it.
11.22.2005 - 9:04 am

Gogol Bordello makes me �ber happy and i believe it will be my next big phase in music. Let's recap my phases in music.

Started with skater punk as my entrance into teenage years. First bands included Face to Face, NOFX, Rancid, Pennywise, and the local bands around that time, ESPECIALLY Y4FA and Weaksauce (I still have those cds somewhere).

Thomas then introduced me and Dawn to Black Flag's "Fix Me" and Erik Kerr showed us Op Ivy's "Jaded." We fell in love. So started our 80's Hardcore days. Still listening to skater punk from time to time such as Propagandhi and slowly getting into skacore as well like Voodoo Glow Skulls and Against All Authority, our main drive was Circle Jerks and Minor Threat.

Dawn met Davey and our lives drove deeper into the old school Hardcore sound, exposing us to bands like Chaos U.K., Anti Nowhere League, and the Germs. Started adopting the fashion (obviously, as I still wear my bondage pants and studded jackets).

I started chillin with Dayna more and discovered off-beat crazy weird punk (i.e. Geza X) and other estranged but fulfilling music.

Then I learned how to discover new music without the aid of friends' collections and eventually discovered the music I appreciated most, the "standard" mid 70's "new wavish" punk. Found 999, the Slits, Stiff Little Fingers, Sham 69, the Vibrators, etc. Poppy, but stuff I could dance to rather than scream and punch things.

But again, I never deserted my roots and still listened to it all. I was Hardcore at heart and it's remained the music I listen to most often (not the newer metal-like hardcore, but the basics of Black Flag, G.B.H., Blitz, the Business, A//Political, etc.) It's just that the 70's punk was my favorite sound.

THEN I went through a year-long stage of basically abandoning my punk and taking up classic rock and contemporary indie bands like Modest Mouse, the White Stripes, Ima Robot, the Strokes, etc. I was looking for more musically inclined bands and a more unique and artistic sound. I discovered a lot of poppy music that, again, made me wanna dance. I love to dance.

Somewhere in there I discovered Psychobilly too, Nekromantix were my first taste, and to this day I lovvve a good Hootenanny.

Since then I've noticed it's a lot harder to get back into Hardcore. I can still listen to it when someone else puts it on. I have good memories. I sing along. All is well. But flipping through my own cds, I'd more readily put on Le Tigre rather than the Casualties. I still hold on to my roots and pop in random skate punk, ska, and hardcore cds from time to time to remind myself how good it sounds. But goddamn Adam Ant would be great right now.

When I came to Hawaii, I started investing in long wished-for tribal music, influenced by my time spent at the Renaissance Faire. Did some research and found some good middle eastern, armanien and citar cds.

Marjhani and Kelly introduced me to more tribal, and also some gothic shit. Good times.

And then lately I've been in a slightly confused state, musically. I have everything. I'm bored. What should I listen to? Got obsessed with Fugazi for a good few months. That was awesome. Been my favorite band for years. For logical reasons. I love punk, but the older I get, the less I can handle it. Fugazi gives me punk in mellow pill form. I love Fugazi.

THEN. Last night. I discover GYPSY PUNK. The TITLE alone = cannot be MORE perfect. Thanks to the Renaissance Faire, I am obsessed with all things gypsy/tribal. PUNK wil always be my love. THE TWO TOGETHER? Completely orgasmic and EVERYTHING I need right now. In need of new music and this fits the bill. HOLY SHIT. It's like having a craving for a food you never knew about and then FINDING IT. I LOVE GOGOL BORDELLO. I want more music like it!!! I'm thinking my craving will take on piratey twists, too. Liiiike, Throw Rag is AWESOME. I WANT MORE! This will be my new revolutionary music phase, I KNOW IT! GYPSY! PUNK! It doesn't get any better.

They might turn into my favorite band depending on how the other cds are. Holy Hell. And on top of it all, their music is influenced by FUGAZI they themselves say. AND! I love the PICTURES I saw on myspace. FIT MY PERSONALITY! Very kooky and wildly energetic on stage. I WANT TO BE IN THEIR BAND! I hope to see them soon. Next tour. I'm there. Fuck yes.

GYPSY PUNK
DHARMA PUNX
I am alive.

yesterday - tomorrow