current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Live Music Feeds My Soul
06.03.2006 - 8:57 am

Last night's show was awwwesome. Pretty Girls Make Graves puts on a frggin AWESOME show.

There were two opening bands, Whale Bones was the first and I was hoping to find them on myspace, but they don't have one. They were realllly cool I liked them a lot, so I hope they get bigger and I can find some of their shit.

Then Giant Drag came on. They're a two man band, with Micah on drums AND a synthesizer and Annie on guitar and vocals. She was this cute meek girl who knew how to jam and she had a real dark sinister side to her and I loved it! I'm going to try and download their cds. I wish they had the Chris Isaak cover they played because it was bitchin. And they had fun songs like "Kevin is gay" and "My dick sux."

So then PGMG came on and they opened up with the neurotic song (Blue Lights)! I was standing in a GOOD place too, I could see everything perfectly. Then a couple songs in some real obnoxiously drunk guys came from behind and pushed me to the side to be up front. They were starting a mini pit, so I joined in because FINALLY I felt like I was in a comfortable situation because all the other indie emo kids just stand there. Hardly any of them know what dancing is. Well I didn't grow up that way, fuck, when I'm there with live music, I fucking dance, bob my head, SOMEthing. But then these guys got way obnoxious and stupid, so I was done and moved to the side. But they got more and more ghey so I started elbowing them in the gut real hard every time they came near. I just wanted to DANCE! Fuck guys tonight, let's just dance! It was SO awesome. Not in order, here are the songs they played:

- Speakers Push The Air
- The Get Away
- Ghosts In The Radio
- Bring It On Golden Pond
- The Nocturnal House
- Pyrite Pedistal
- The Number
- Parade (I appreciate this song more now)
- Selling the Wind (awwwesome live)
- Pictures of a Night Scene
- Something bigger, Something Brighter (they closed with this pre-encore)
- The Grandmother Wolf
- All Medicated Geniuses (my favorite, though I wish they would have played Mr. Club to open this song with)
- Blue Lights
- The Teeth Collector
- Holy Names
- The New Romance
- This Is Our Emergency

They came out to play 3 encore songs (I listed them with the others) and like 10 people yelled out "A Certain Cemetary" and she said "we hear you, and we're going to play it for you" but they never did! I was really hoping to hear it too, it would have been AWESOME. But other than that, they played all the songs I wanted them to. All the band members put on a great show, they were so fun! And I had a great time dancing! Those indie kids know what's up, man, I wanna go to more shows like that. Fun as shit.

So now I'm about to get dressed to go to the renaissance faire in corona. We'll see how that goes. I'm going by myself cuz Steve wouldn't let me pay for him. It would have made me sooo happy to though. With my financial situation, I haven't been able to do ANYthing for my friends, and I've just been a big mooch and it makes me so depressed! If Steve would have let me pay for him, it would have made me feel so much better. GAH. But I know where he's coming from, I would do the same in his shoes. LAME! Oh well, I get him something cool at the faire then! Yes. Alright, I need to hurry!

yesterday - tomorrow