current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

My Calculus Class Annoys Me
11.07.2006 - 12:08 pm

I've been meaning to write for a while, but school and work has bombarded my time and I haven't had the chance to get on the computer for more than a few minutes to check myspace and my email.

Well, this should be the latter entry as opposed to the next one I will write right after this one, but I want time to put my thoughts together since it's more reminiscing and this subject is more fiery and immediate.

I have come to hate my Calculus class SOOO much. It's not even funny anymore. I HATE IT. I hate every idiotic imbicle in that class. Every person is either nerdy and ugly, a bitch, or a fucking moron. I hate them all. The teacher is an awesome person but a CRAPPPPY teacher. She's intelligent, she's witty, she's awesome. She should not teach this class. She would do better in a difficult class where everyone is a genious. What she's not good at is translating her massive intelligence into idiot talk for this class. Even though it is a Calc II class, we're all still pretty new at these concepts. And it's a semester, meaning 4 months to learn a lot of material. And class meets twice a fucking week, which means even LESS time.

Anyway, she's not a good translator, which a good teacher needs to be.

The other thing that's been getting to me is the fact that she allows NO calculators, books or notes on any test or quiz. Uhh wtf? Since when do you have to memorize that


ANYWAY?! Every path I take in trying to justify the lack of resources on a test leads me to the same fucking conclusion that it's unrealistic. Whether in the REAL world doing your JOB or in a CLASS writing your DOCTORATE'S DISSERTATION, you would HAVE some sort of resource available. It's not like we're going to learn any LESS by allowing notes on tests. We should be allowed some kind of formula sheet because with or without them, if you don't know the math, then you don't know the math. Having formulas in front of you still requires you to learn the stupid material. I'm sorry, I don't have the fucking time or capacity to memorize stupid shit I will never need in the real world like the MacLaurin summation of SIN x. It's pointless. Anyway I look at it, no notes is pointless. And the part that pisses me off the most about it, is that it feels like she's doing it out of arrogance. Like "blah blah I'm a fucking genious, you shouldn't need notes, everyone should memorize blah blah blah blah" (imagine that in a whiney mocking voice). Seriously, not everyone is good at memorization. I'm here for critical thinking damn it! I stopped taking vocabulary tests a long time ago so I woudn't have to memorize stupid crap anymore.

UGH GAWD I HATE SHIT THAT'S NOT REALISTIC OR PRACTICAL. HATE HATE HATE, MY BIGGEST HATE IN THE ENTIRE WORLD. SHIT!

Anyway. I don't have time to write my other blog about Hardcore, but I'll probably do it tonight when I get home from work.

yesterday - tomorrow