current�|�archives�|�profile�| cast�|�reviews�|�image�|�design | host

Shenanigans
06.11.2007 - 5:48 pm

So in April I bought a cruise for me and Robbie for our [*gay*] 1 year. We went kind of crazy on eachother and I would be against that sort of lavishness so early in a relationship except that we've known eachother so long and we've always had pretty strong feelings for eachother, that it doesn't feel so much lavish as it does appropriate for us.

So with the process of moving and me personally being swamped with finals and him being swamped with career decisions, I wasn't as on top of things as I would like to have been and really didn't talk to him about what to expect on this cruise or what he was going to need, etc. until last minute -- by last minute I mean the night before.

So a week before the day we decide to ask Andrew Schmook if we could stay at his place in Long Beach the night before so we're that much closer day of. We pack our shit and I head over to Robbie's to get ready to leave. I ask him if he has his passport and HE SAYS he doesn't have one because his military ID served as his "passport" -- so I say ok, then get you're birth certificate.

Does he have that either ladies and gentlemen? NO! Why? You don't even want to hear about why he doesn't have a freakin copy of it with him... and I get annoyed ONLY because our joke is how he has all the common sense and he's ALWAYS planning ahead and yadda yadda yadda -- supposed to be mr. perfect in that area, yeah? But when I get mad at him for all this, he fucking yells at me!! Uhm, DUH -- Mr. So Prepared All The Time, of course I'm PISSED that you don't have shit like that! How can you be so freakin naive about traveling internationally?! GAH!

So he calls his mom and asks her to email him a copy of his birth certificate. This is all at 8:00pm mind you. Well like she has any computer literacy and his dad ain't home to help her.

So I'm looking up on the internet how to get a copy of it, and everything says "shipped in 1 - 3 days!!" fantastic! [mocking voice]

So I call my dad... and I admit I was crying like a bitch. One I can't get my $600 back. Two I was just telling people how much I needed this just to get my mind of all the stress lately and blah blah blah. I REALLY FUCKING WANTED TO GO, OKAY!

So my dad gives me options. What was the one we chose that was really our best/only good option? We drove all the way to Vegas at 9:30p.m. to get Robbie's birth certificate from his mom.

I drove half way and was falling asleep -- we stopped at Baker to get Del Taco and Robbie drove the rest of the way.

We got his stuff, slept for about 3.5/4 hours and got back on the road, this time I drove the whole way -- stopped at Baker to stretch our legs. Got back to Rancho Cucamonga around 9am and got our stuff ready to leave at 12pm. I drove all the way to San Pedro harbor and we got on the ship around 3pm with no problems (thank God).

THE TRIP:

So we got to our room, dropped our stuff off. Turn on the TV and see Happy Feet is on. Watched that for a bit as I look through some brochures and "Day One Plans!"

We walk around the ship, I show him around -- tell him the comparison to the first ship I was on, etc.

I think around 4pm is when we went to the Windjammer cafe and ate lunch -- awesome buffet, best food evvver.

Then we go back to the room a bit and I tell him at 6pm we're going to dinner in the dining hall. We get there, sit with another couple and proceed to tell them our fake story -- that we work for Revolver magazine and we're on this trip due to winning a competition at work on writing some articles on some bands. We're from Vegas, etc etc. We improved and bullshitted our way through every conversation, it was fun except the honest people we are, we felt kind of guilty since Allen and Sara were such nice people.

Dinner was good. We wanted to do other stuff that night, but we crashed out in our room.

Day Two: Saturday

We get to Ensenada around 8am -- we woke up around 6:30 am.

We had breakfast at the buffet and then went back to shower and get ready to go see the town. I wanted to sign up for a wine tasting tour but I was tired and lazy the night before and never made it to the desk to sign up. So we thought we'd just walk around town instead.

Well we take a shuttle to town and on the way we get $5.00 off coupons to go to La Bufadora, a geyser. Sweet. So for $30 total we both get on another shuttle and get harassed by a Mexican with a guitar making us sing Spanish songs. Pretty funny. Then our tour guide comes in and we head to the coast for this water spout. Got some cool pictures.

Did some cool shopping. Me and Robbie had a beer and a margarita and some fish tacos in one of the restaurants the tour guide Fernando suggested. It was good stuff.

So we headed back to the ship and I was just beat tired the rest of the day. Took a nap and then Robbie woke me up for dinner. The rest of the trip we just had dinner at the buffet. I wasn't that hungry that night but I ate some anyway. Went back to the room and waited until some shows were going to start before we headed out again. We saw some musical in the theater and walked around checkin things out. And then we passed out pretty early again -- after Robbie appreciated the towel animals on our bed that night:


Day Three: Sunday

We were at sea again, anchored a ways from San Diego, and we had all day to do stuff. We wanted to do the rock climbing but never got around to it. I had my bathing suite on, but never swam. Walked around with my shirt off and heard guys left and right ooh and ahh my chest piece... a lot of "Holy shit, lookit..."

There was a Men's International Belly Flop contest. THAT was fun as hell to watch.

There was a bar show that was like the movie Cocktail -- I got a lot of video footage of that:

It was a little jiggly because I was dancing.

Then I got some pictures of the ice-carving demonstration right after:

The same guy did a fruit/veggie carving that I want to copy:

Gawd, I forget all the stuff we did that day but we had a lot of fun.

That night was a comedy show of an impressionist named Michael Williams I think? He's on some ABC show and was freakin hilarious!!

And we crashed out early again! Lol. I was so tired the entire trip -- like all the stress I was going thru melted away and I was exhausted. It felt good to be lazy though.

Monday Morning

We got up around 6:30 again and waited until 7 to go to the buffet. Piled as much food as we could and took our plates to our room to munch. We packed up all our stuff and by 8am we were out of our room in the lounge and watched stand up comedy until we were called to leave.

Drive home was tiring and I took a nap and now I get to cross my fingers that I find a job this week. Wish me luck! Yay back to the real world.

I think I'm going to look into working on a cruise next summer. Yes.

yesterday - tomorrow